Top Six (2006)

It’s that time of year again, when every blogger and their cat spews forth self-important lists of what they think defined the outgoing year. Personally, I like to think I’m above all that self-importance, but in the name of peace and goodwill on Earth this holiday season, I will stoop to the common blogger’s level and indulge my vanity with a couple “top-ten” lists of my own.

Top Six Albums of 2006, in no particular order:

Liberation Transmission” – Lostprophets

Voices of Animals and Men” – The Young Knives

Tomorrow Starts Today” – Mobile

Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not” – Arctic Monkeys

Nice and Nicely Done” – The Spinto Band

Songs for the Deaf” – Queens of the Stone Age

I know Nice and Nicely Done and Songs for the Deaf actually came out in 2005, but I didn’t start listening to them until this year.

Top Sixteen Songs from 2006, pretty much determined by my iTunes play count:

“A Town Called Hypocrisy” – Lostprophets

“New York Minute” – Mobile

“Direct to Helmet” – The Spinto Band

“Brown Boxes” – The Spinto Band

“George Romero” – Sprites

“Tomorrow Starts Today” – Mobile

“Mardy Bum” – Arctic Monkeys

“Generator” – The Halloways

“Rooftops (A Liberation Transmission)” – Lostprophets

“In the Pink” – The Young Knives

“Janet” – The Format

“Ali in the Jungle” – The Hours

“Frank Sinatra” – Cake

“She’s Attracted To” – The Young Knives

“Hollow Line” – The Young Knives

“Woman” – Wolfmother

Again, I’m sure several of these actually came out in 2005. But if a song is played in 2005 and I’m not around to hear it, does it make a sound?

Other Things I Heard on the Radio in 2006:

“None of us are Free” – Solomon Burke

“I Found a Reason” – Cat Power

“London Calling” – The Clash

“The Happy Goth” – The Divine Comedy

“Backstabber” – The Dresden Dolls

“Theatre” – Gatsbys American Dream

“Love is Better Than a Warm Trombone” – Gomez

“Setting Sun” – Howling Bells

“Let There Be Drums” – The Incredible Bongo Band

“Teardrop” – Massive Attack

“Mel Gibson” – Nervous Cabaret

“Autrefois” – Pink Martini

“Next” – The Sensational Alex Harvey Band

“Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette)” – Tex Williams

“Wolf Like Me” – TV on the Radio

“Oh Stacey (Look What You’ve Done)” – The Zutons

Leave a Reply

