It’s the time of the season

In the last couple weeks a cold has been spreading, well, like a cold through the student population at Brock. It’s been over a week since I noticed the first victims sitting beside me in lecture and on the bus, spreading their germy secretions over every communal surface in reach. I suppose I’m lucky to have held out this long.

Alas, I have fallen

So far it’s only a drippy nose, but I’m starting medication now. I’ll never understand people who insist on “letting a cold run it’s course.” Especially if you have to be out in public anyway, why suffer? You’re not doing yourself any favours and all that sneezing is just making more people sick.

As an added bonus, the non-drowsy pills are making me feel a little crazy. You know that Pizza Pockets commercial with the man in a stomach suit? The “brain” set is just an empty room with walls that look like brain. (Unfortunately I can’t find it on Youtube.) That’s a bit like how I feel now: my consciousness is in a bit room, slightly removed from what’s happening in reality.

To put it another way, it’s like I’m dreaming but awake. Make sense? Anyway, I like it.

[mp3] “Dire Tribe” by Gomez

[mp3] “Time of the Season” by The Zombies

[photo] “soup repetition” by saralynncantor

Leave a Reply

