The future sounds computer-generated

I had noticed lately some of the new buses in St Catharines came equipped with LED boards up front for announcing stops. I thought it would be some time before they had all the buses upgraded to implement audio and visual announcements of bus stops, as mandated by the OHRC [pdf]. Either the transit commission upgraded all the buses very quickly this afternoon or they’re taking a gradual approach.

Whatever the case may be, I can tell you from personal experience that at least one bus in St Catharines now speaks and displays the name of each upcoming stop. Hooray for progress!

Even for someone with myself with decent hearing and vision, it proved to be handy because the bus was crowded and from my standing position I couldn’t really see where we were at. But I could hear it!

Leave a Reply

